It is currently Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:44 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 7 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Graphics card with HDMI output
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:38 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 9260
Hi guys. I am finally cordcutting Time Warner and I need a solution for getting TV from my computer (capturing OTA via a Hauppage card) to the TV. TV takes HMDI input so I would ideally have a video card with an HDMI output. I think ALL HDMI cards send video AND audio via the HDMI port but, if not, I need one that does.

Thoughts?

_________________
"A problem cannot be solved with the same level of awareness that created it" - Albert Einstein

http://www.thehandsondad.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card with HDMI output
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:10 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:57 am
Posts: 9666
Location: same as it ever was
That's a good solution, HDMI does send sound. I do that with my netbook.

You might also want to look at PLEX. You can then send media through chromecast (or other devices). That would allow you to locate your computer anywhere and stream over your wireless. Note, I haven't used it with TV input so not sure that is supported.

https://plex.tv/

_________________
He's taking the knife out of the cheese!
Do you think he wants some cheese?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card with HDMI output
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:32 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 9260
I'm a plex geek, have had a server up and running for a long while. I have a server dedicated to streaming content all over the house and to my ipad. Now when I am on the road with the kids I have 70 movies they can choose from whenever they have wifi. My setup actually captures TV in Windows Media Center and then converts it to MP4 and drops it onto the Plex server. But I want the ability to watch live tv from time to time, and that will require sending the HDMI signal.

Do you use plex?

_________________
"A problem cannot be solved with the same level of awareness that created it" - Albert Einstein

http://www.thehandsondad.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card with HDMI output
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:05 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:57 am
Posts: 9666
Location: same as it ever was
I have plex, but haven't used it much yet. I have it to work with my chromecast. I just use a Tivo for handling live TV (using antenna input to the tivo).

_________________
He's taking the knife out of the cheese!
Do you think he wants some cheese?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card with HDMI output
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:35 am 
Renegade Heroes
Renegade Heroes
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:36 am
Posts: 1487
Location: Phoenix,Az
I stream Sunday ticket from my gtx 760 via hdmi to my tv and work real good and is a good gaming card as well

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card with HDMI output
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 5:09 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 9260
I'm having trouble getting Windows Media Center into 19:9 mode WITHOUT maximizing the window....thoughts?

_________________
"A problem cannot be solved with the same level of awareness that created it" - Albert Einstein

http://www.thehandsondad.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card with HDMI output
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:36 am 
Renegade Heroes
Renegade Heroes

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 689
I use Plex for movies and shows but it doesn't work with live TV. Check out [url="http://www.nextpvr.com"]NextPVR[/url], it has a nice interface for live TV and is free. I use it as an addon to XMBC currently.

To answer your question:
Why are you going into 19:9? Do you mean 16:9? That might be your issue ;-) Other than that, there should be an option to set zoom (maybe right-click?) or to constrain the aspect ratio.

Quote:
On the Windows Media Center start screen, scroll to Tasks, click Settings, click General, click Windows Media Center Setup, and then click Configure Your TV or Monitor.

Follow the instructions, and when prompted to choose a display width, click Standard (4:3) or Widescreen (16:9).

Select the appropriate display resolution, and then complete the instructions as needed. You might need to try more than one resolution setting to find the one that looks best on your display.

Source: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... my-display


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 7 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net